Writing Thoughts #12

Today is…odd. 

I feel like I’m stuck in a mental limbo. The college semester ended for me on Wednesday. This left me in a interesting place. Writing was my escape from my homework, but now when I have all the time in the world to write, I have nothing to write. 

I’ve had my eye on my outline for How To Write A Story for some time now. The last time I worked on it was July. Part of me wants to scrap it, but another part wants to finish the short work. When I pull up the document, my mind runs around like a mad man trying to remember what’s going on! To top it all off, I don’t like the title anymore! Fun times!!

If that’s a mess, A Mission Remembered is the after-math of a hurricane. I have two people going over the current draft and two people who have finished it. But….. I’m not 100% happy with the story yet. Last week I was thrilled to be done with editing and looked forward to the finishing touches. This week, as I think over the story, I see some major flaws that are making it sub-par to A Mission Given.

My disdain is a culmination of several factors. There is still something in Arf’s character that I don’t like, I can’t quite put my finger on it anymore. The main message of the story is vague. The plot feels like the reheated leftovers of the first book. Some character’s arcs are…well… missing, while other’s happen “off screen” leaving me thinking, Wow Simon! When did you grow up? 

I could fix these problems, I want to fix these problems. But that is just going to push the release date back further and I actually have people waiting for this sequel. I guess quality is better than efficiency. Maybe next time I look into my documents, I’ll remember the reason why I write. 

I shouldn’t write to escape, or fill time. I need to be writing with purpose. That purpose is not for my benefit, but the benefit of the One who allows me to write. I say my writing is for the glory of God, maybe it’s time to start doing that again. 

Like always, putting these thoughts on paper…er… screen helps me remember what’s really important.

Until Next Time. Solo Deo Gloria!