Writing Thursdays #2

Greetings!

As many of you writers know, Writer’s Block is nothing to joke about. That all too familiar phenomenon where you are exercising your creative genius when all of a sudden…uh.

Exactly my point, if you have never had Writer’s Block you’ve never written. I’ve been talking with my friends over in Generation Rising and figuring out how they deal with Writer’s Block.

If you are not a writer and are still reading this, Thank-you! I could use the views, so feel free to tell your friends or enemies about this page.

Here are some of the ways I use to beat Writer’s Block

1: Take a Break

This is probably the most common remedy for the Block, and actually, encompasses most other remedies. Writing for extended amounts of time can clog your creative gears and bring writing to a halt. To fix this, simply get up and go do something else. It doesn’t matter what you do, you can go for a jog, clean the house, read a book, play dress-up, or whatever you find relaxing. Once you’ve spent some time away from writing work area, you can come back with a fresh outlook on things.

2: Go Crazy

Metaphorically not literally. Try writing something unusual. If you’re at a tense scene in your story with your main character being held at gun point and you don’t know how he/she is going to get out. Try having a Leprechaun come flying in on a purple kangaroo and save them, then save that version for your out personal enjoyment and go back trying to write a proper ending.

3: Get Distracted

This is yet another odd remedy. Some people do everything they can to avoid distractions while writing, but for me personally, they help. I always listen to music while writing, so if I get bogged down with too many ideas, I can zone out to the music. This kind-of is derived from #1, but I classified it as it’s own thing because I do it while writing, instead of getting up and doing something else. I also listen to the music to drown out other distractions and just ignore it while writing. So essentially I use writing as my distraction from the distractions if that makes sense.

4: Ask for Ideas

I am fortunate to have a host of writing friends to help break writer’s block. If you don’t have a writing group, get one. “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:12. It great to have people to help out-think Writer’s Block. Five heads are better than one.

What Works Best for You?

There are probably hundreds of ways to get out of the Block, and the few I’ve shared may not work for you like the do for me. Please feel free to comment below and share what you do to bust out of Writer’s Block.

God’s Speed!

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Thursdays #2

  1. These are so helpful! The kids are usually watching a movie while I write, so I usually just stand up and watch for while……….. Then of course, PINTEREST won’t leave me alone! But I do find pics for my characters, so I guess I was doing SOMETHING productive! Music really helps!
    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! Totally, Tanner! I hate writer’s block and usually get up and wander around the house complaining about it, then go back and start writing again-after begging some cookies off of Emily

    Like

Leave a Reply

