Glorifying Mondays #3

Hello, everyone.

Something has happened in my church that is testing our faith. A good friend of mine, Alexander Young, was recently diagnosed with lymphoma cancer. I’ve known Alex for a while now, I honestly haven’t been keeping track.1478982415148933810?account_id=6.jpg

In my life, he’s been an example of what a Christian should be, warts and all. It’s hard to see your friend, your brother in the faith, struggle with an illness that makes every moment laced with pain. But in all this, we do have a hope, and that hope is found in Christ.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.” Proverbs 3:5

Even though we feel the pain of seeing our brother battle cancer, we look to Jesus for comfort. We know that through this trial, God is in control, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalms 46:10. This verse has been a calming passage for me in this time. I pray for the healing of my friend and trust God knows what he is doing.

“But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.” 2 Peter 3:18

I find it amusing, that as Christians, we are always asking God to increase our faith, but when we realize what that entails, some of us shrink back because of the pain. The pain of the fiery trial is to refine and purify our faith. As gold in a furnace removes impurities, so are trials in life to the faithful Christian. I pray that God would grow Alex in his faith during this time, and ask you do the same. There is also a Gofundme for my friend the church set up, to help cover the cost of treatment.

“I know that You can do all things and that no purpose of Yours can be thwarted.” Job 42:2

This whole trial causes me to come back before God and beg for mercy for my friend and all of my other friends who are either sick or have turned away from the faith. Yet I know that “God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” Roman 8:28, and that ‘good’ isn’t always what we would call ‘good’. Sometimes God’s will isn’t ours, and we must prepare our spirits to submit to that good and holy will. Never-the-less, we cry out for God to heal Alex and once again ask you to do the same.

“And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven.” James 5:15

Thanks and God’s Speed

2 thoughts on “Glorifying Mondays #3

  1. Thank you for this post, Tanner! This is a really good perspective and encouraged me to keep turning to God. Proverbs 3:5 was what I needed just now.
    Praying super hard for Alex!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Tanner – I am so grieved and sorry to read this post – and I want you to know that I am praying for Alex and all those that know and love him in this difficult time.

    All my bones will say, “LORD, who is like You, Who delivers the afflicted from him who is too strong for him,
    Psalm 35:10a

    God bless and keep you.

    Allison Tebo

    Like

Leave a Reply

