Glorifying Mondays #1

Hello, everyone! This is the first of what I hope will be a regular posting series: Glorifying Mondays!

To briefly describe what glorifying Mondays will be about, post that is central in, and designed to Glorify, Christ. Typically Monday will be a brief summary of what the Lord has taught me over the previous week. However, I will use today to briefly state some of what I believe.

I am a ‘Reforming’ Baptist, and with that probably lost half anyone who found this post. I as you may have noticed with my last post Introducing the Blue Blur, I like to make lists so I will do so again.

  • I believe the Bible is the inspired Word of God. It has been preserved by God since the original writings and formation of the Canon, which he guided. I believe that all of Scripture is consistent and trustworthy and as 2 Timothy 3:16 states, “Is profitable for doctrine, for reproof,  for correction, for instruction in righteousness.”
  • I believe in the Trinity.  That the Bible teaches that God is actually 3 in 1. The Trinity is incredibly difficult to explain, mostly in part to the fact that there is no perfect parallel in creation. In my opinion, the best analogy with our world, though still incredibly flawed, is the 3 dimensions of reality; Space, Time, and Matter. Neither one of these can exist without the others and yet each one has very unique roles. In the Trinity, The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit have always existed in perfect harmony, and always will into eternity future.  I do not want to continue to try to describe the Trinity with my rather young faith, lest in my ignorance I stumble into some old heresy.
  • I believe, “In the Beginning, God created the Heavens and the Earth,” (Genesis 1:1) and that God made everything in six literal 24-hour days. God made everything in the following order. Day 1: Light and Darkness, Day and Night. Day 2: Sky and Sea. Day 3: Dry ground, all plants. (and possible fungi, algae, and bacteria, Bible doesn’t say but we can deduce.) Day 4: Sun, Moon, and the stars also. Day 5: Birds and all sea creatures. Day 6: Bugs, land animal (including Dinosaurs) and the crown of His creation MAN. To finish, I want to share a verse I love, “God made two great lights-the greater light to govern the day and the lesser light to govern the night. He also made the stars.” Genesis 1:16. Something a lot of people miss, He also made the stars. The stars are in reference to everything else in the night sky, which thanks to Hubble, we know is the incredible vaster majority of creation. Earth as a planet makes up an inconceivably low percentage of all the matter in the Cosmos. God gives us a whole 2 chapters to express how he made us and our world. compared to the sidenote the stars get. Isn’t that mind-boggling!!! How Great is our GOD!
  • There is so much more I want to share, but I’ll close with this: I believe, “God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life,” John 3:16. We who have been rebelling against Him since our forefather, Adam, sinned in the Graden of Eden, were destined for an eternity in Hell. We had sinned against a Holy and Just God, who had every right to just cast us by the wayside to face his condemnation. However, in His Goodness He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, fully God and fully Man, to come to Earth and live the life we couldn’t. He was completely innocent of all sin, though tempted by sin, but it was Him who took up a cross and suffered unjustly. He hung with nails in His hands until “It Is Finished” (John 19:30). Christ paid the debt for sin before God, and, by faith alone in Him, offers forgiveness of sin. So now we look forward to the day where Christ will come again, Judge the World in Righteousness, claim his Kingdom, redeem His beloved, and create this world anew.

I hope this helps some of you understand what I believe, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Until next time, God’s Speed

Leave a Reply

